Comics

#NewComicBookDay (March 15th)

     

American Gods: Shadows #1 by Neil Gaiman & P. Craig Russell
So far, I’m really liking it. It makes me want to reread the book because a whole month for the next issue feels like too long.

Batwoman #1 by Marguerite Bennett, James Tynion IV & Steve Epting
I really, really, REALLY wanted to like this a whole lot more than I did. There are parts I liked, and I love Kate Kane, but. This looks like it’s going to be yet another grimdark DC. I shall be continuing for the next couple of issues to see if it gets better.

Coady and the Creepies #1 by Liz Prince & Amanda Kirk
The whole vibe of this comic reminds me of Jonesy, which is a thing that I like. I also like the fact that this is a ghost mystery story with an all-girl punk band as the main characters.

Grass Kings #1 by Matt Kindt & Tyler Jenkins
I have to admit that I only read this because the art intrigued me. I didn’t know what it’s about until I started reading… but it’s interesting enough that I think I’ll continue.

   

Inhumans vs. X-Men #6 by Jeff Lemire, Charles Soule and Francis Leinil Yu
The IvX event finale… since I got my issue late enough that I’ve read all the spoilers online, I’ve nothing new to say… except wow for the change of the Inhumans’ status quo and I can’t wait to see how this will affect the X-Men in the future!

Monsters Unleashed #5 by Cullen Bunn & Adam Kubert
Another event finale, although this one will be followed by another Monsters Unleashed series, starring Kid Kaiju. I may not read that one until it’s out in trade, but this one had been fun to follow. Fin Fang Foom and Devil Dinosaur FTW!

Ms. Marvel #16 by G. Willow Wilson & Takeshi Miyazawa
I am really not liking the covers of this arc. The arc itself can be good, in the sense that it brings up cyber security and online harrassment, but I hate the fact that Kamala’s working alone all the time, when she needs her support system more than ever. My favourite parts are the ones with Zoe, Nakia, and Bruno. And speaking of Bruno, can we please have some of his adventures in Wakanda in the comics?

Patsy Walker, A.K.A. Hellcat! #16 by Kate Leth & Brittney Williams
The penultimate issue of a kickass series. I will miss having the fun adventures of Patsy and Jubilee and the gang to look forward to, but Patsy is going back into superhero-ing, and I will be reading Jubilee in Generation X, so it’s not really goodbye… (okay, I have the feeling that none of the new stuff will be quite as fun as this series T_T)

   

Spider-Man #14 by Brian Michael Bendis & Sara Pichelli
Miles and Gwen Stacy are sent from random dimension to random dimension because of… well, the cause hasn’t been determined yet, but it could be Gwen’s interdimensional travel watch thing. While this is fun in its own way, I don’t completely get it yet, because it ties in with Spider-Gwen, which I only read in trade.

Star-Lord #4 by Chip Zdarsky & Kris Anka
Always read comics by Chip Zdarsky. This will be one of my new rules, maybe. I’m not a big fan of Peter Quill, but this is one of my favourite titles right now (and will probably be providing my much-needed comic relief now that Patsy Walker is ending) just because it’s so ENTERTAINING and HILARIOUS. Also, Matt Murdock is sure not a lot of fun to be around…

Super Sons #2 by Peter J. Tomasi & Jorge Jimenez
Damian Wayne and Jon Kent are my current favourite DC duo. This issue looks like it’s heading towards some dark stuff (*yawn*) but at least the two super sons have yet to lose their sense of humour!

The Totally Awesome Hulk #17 by Greg Pak & Mahmud Asrar
I am absolutely loving this particular arc, because of all the characters involved and how it all started. Not really loving the whole fighting-aliens-in-space bit, but I do like what Ammy is learning throughout about teamwork, and I guess it’s just that I always prefer the parts when the heroes are not superhero-ing.

Leave a Reply

