thinking out loud

Ten Authors I Wish I could Meet, and 2 I can’t Believe I’ve Met

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is on authors we’ve met, or want to meet. This subject is sometimes a sore spot for me, because I live in a country that is almost always skipped by authors even when they’re doing SEA tours. So the idea of meeting authors I love would fall under the “dream long long” (castle in the air) category, to quote a friend of mine. I do like dreaming out loud, though, so here are some authors I would love to meet:

    

* Diana Wynne Jones
Since we are talking about fantasies here, I figure I don’t have to stick to living authors. One of my two greatest regrets in life is not writing to her when she was still alive. I don’t even know why I never did – probably because her books were so brilliant and I couldn’t think of anything to say that wouldn’t just be silly fangirling.

* Farah Mendlesohn
For those who don’t know, Farah Mendlesohn is an academic historian who wrote The Rhetorics of Fantasy and Diana Wynne Jones: Children’s Literature and the Fantastic Tradition. Honestly, I don’t know what I would say to her, either – I couldn’t afford her books (and no library near me has them), and have only read snippets and other papers she’s written. But I love what I’ve read by her and I guess I imagine talking with her would be awesome, if I could ever switch off my fangirl mode.

* Francesca Lia Block
To be honest, I haven’t read any of FLB’s books since Echo. I think. Or perhaps it was the middle-aged Weetzie Bat book. I don’t really remember, and I guess adult!me might not care as much. But I still would love to meet her, because she meant so much to me when I was a teenager. Girl Goddess #9 and Witch Baby changed my life. If I never found her books, I might be an accountant now.

* Maggie Stiefvater
If she’s anything like her online self I’d probably be too intimidated to even talk to her, but I really would love to talk with her (again, if only I could switch off the fangirl mode) because besides absolutely loving her books, I know that she’s also a DWJ fan.

* Ursula Le Guin
Who wouldn’t want to meet Ursula Le Guin? She’s so amazing. Rather than just wanting to chat with her, I think I would love to hear her lecture… on anything.

    

* Jo Walton
I do not think I would ever manage to switch off my fangirl mode with Jo Walton, so I would probably just babble and get my books signed if I ever met her. This being-too-far-away-from-all-the-authors thing might be a good thing because fangirl mode is embarrassing.

* Pamela Dean
If only to ask her for an update on the next (last?) Secret Country book. It’s been so many years, I’ve lost count!

* Megan Whalen Turner
I won’t complain because Thick As Thieves is coming out this May, and I’ve already read it, but. I have a lot of questions. (And yes, I know she generally doesn’t answer them. But in my fantasy, she does, okay?)

* Sarah Monette / Katherine Addison
Sarah Monette is one of the authors I would really love to meet if I could switch off my fangirl mode, because not only her books are all among my favourites, I also enjoy reading her LJ and think she would be a very interesting person to meet.

* Roger Sutton
Roger Sutton is the editor in chief at The Horn Book, and he co-wrote A Family of Readers. I read his blog (Read Roger) and love The Horn Book, and listen to the HB podcast, so yeah, he would be in my list of would-love-to-meet people!

And two authors I still can’t believe I’ve met:

* Neil Gaiman
Fact: my eldest brother, who lives and works in Singapore, queued up for SEVEN HOURS to get me tickets to hear Neil Gaiman speak at the Singapore Writers Festival in 2009. He also waited in line with me for about 3-4 hours to get my book signed. (And then, instead of getting his own copy of Good Omens signed, he brought mine so that I could have two signed books!) Yes, my brother is the best. (Another fact: we hardly knew each other most of our lives, being so far apart in years, until I nicked his copy of Neverwhere and he realised I liked this stuff too, and he got me my own copies of The Sandman.)

Anyway, back to meeting Neil Gaiman: we were only allowed to get one book signed and we weren’t allowed to chat, but I was wearing my Firefly t-shirt which prompted him to draw a rat in a brown coat in my copy of Neverwhere ❤ (*forever starstruck*) Oh, and we also saw Amanda Palmer walking by us when we were in the queue, so that’s another squee-moment for me!

* Leonard Marcus
I literally know only two other people who even understands how squee-worthy this is, but – I. Met. Leonard. Marcus. And I was in total fangirl mode, but it wasn’t so bad that I was incoherent (LOL). If you don’t know who he is, I’ll let Wikipedia sum it up: “Leonard S. Marcus is one of the world’s leading scholars of English language children’s literature.” He’s a children’s book critic, historian, and (academic) author – my first book by him was The Wand in the Word, a collection of interviews with the best children’s/ya authors. Obviously I bought the book for the DWJ interview, but more than half of the authors included were among my faves, and the rest I just haven’t read yet. Then I found more and more of his books – I don’t have them all now, but I love all of the ones I have. I met him at the Asian Festival of Children’s Content, when I got to see him lecture on picture books.

Which authors were you lucky to have met? Let me live vicariously through your experiences! Or if your situation is more like mine, then who would you love to meet?

4 thoughts on “Ten Authors I Wish I could Meet, and 2 I can’t Believe I’ve Met

  1. Four of your choices (I’ll leave you to guess which ones) are mine, and I wouldn’t mind to meet two or three of the others! Joan Aiken would be on my list, but being a correspondent with her daughter Lizza is the next best thing. 🙂

    I did once write to Diana, and got a lovely letter back, but I regret not continuing the correspondence.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I haven’t read a lot of Aiken (something I plan to work on!) and I suspect that that’s the only reason she isn’t on my list… for now. It’s so nice, that you did write to Diana 😀

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’ve met Farah Mendlesohn and Jo Walton, at Wiscon a few years ago. Jo was the guest of honor, and was very nice about talking to me. (She told me at the time that she reads my blog!) Farah came to dinner with me, Joan Slonczewski, Michael Levy, Sandra Lindow, and Jonna Gjevre, and then I saw her on a panel (about Pacific Rim). ICFA is another conference where I’ve met a lot of SF writers–my daughter met Neil Gaiman there four years ago, when he was the guest of honor.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. That’s amazing, that you got to met all of them! Everyone I know who have met Farah Mendlesohn (not that I know many people who have) said she was very nice, which is a good thing to know about someone you admire 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

