thinking out loud

Ten Things That Make Me Want to Read a Book

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. I kind of forgot to schedule this post for yesterday, so here is my list on a Wednesday. The week’s theme is Top Ten Things That Will Make Us Instantly Want to Read a Book:

hate-to-love relationships
I’m not a fan of romance in my SFF, but I do enjoy contemporary romances. And I like a lot of rom-com tropes/cliches. And this is probably the one I like the most.

travel/road-trips
I also love stories where the character is either travelling in a different country, or is on a road trip. I’m really not super adventurous (I like the idea of road trips, but in reality I prefer the comforts of home) so I guess it’s fun to read about other people’s adventures.

zines or zinesters
Zines are kind of my thing. And I miss how zines used to be when I was younger, a way to connect to like-minded people, and to know about the lives of completely different people. (I guess people have youtube now, huh?) Anyway, mention zines or characters who make zines, like Hard LoveΒ (Ellen Wittlinger) or JonesyΒ (Sam Humphries) or The Perks of Being a Wallflower (Stephen Chbosky), and the book may end up a favourite.

fandom
I like books with characters who are really into a fandom – it doesn’t even matter what fandom. If the book is all about being in a fandom, I will probably want to pick it up.

fame
Well, not necessarily FAME, but I do like reading about characters who are actors/actresses. Stage, TV, film – it doesn’t matter. I’ve picked up random contemporary romances based on that alone. Loosely related: I also tend to pick up titles related to music.

diverse characters
I guess this is self-explanatory?

fairy-tales/mythology
Actual fairy tales and myth, as well as fairy tale/mythology retellings. I love them all!

Tam Lin/Thomas the Rhymer
I have a thing about Tam Lin and Thomas the Rhymer. Ever since Diana Wynne Jones’ Fire and Hemlock, I’ve been reading any retellings of the ballads that I could get my hands on (which, admittedly, isn’t a lot.)

heists
I generally dislike mysteries/thrillers, but give me a good heist story and I’m hooked. My theory is I like stories about different people coming together to accomplish something (because I also enjoy sports manga!). Anyway, while I enjoy most heist stories I do like them best when mixed with fantasy, like with Leigh Bardugo’s Six of Crows, and Greg van Eekhout’s California Bones. Speaking of California Bones

weird magical systems
I like it when the magical world I’m immersed in isn’t just… magic. Rather than “weird”, I guess the magic works in a very particular way. Like how precise words matter in Diana Wynne Jones’ Witch Week, or the difference between “big magic” and “small magic” in Gail Carson Levine’s Ella Enchanted. My favourite is language-based magic, like Ursula K. Le Guin’s Earthsea books, where magic is based on knowing the true name of things.

I also seem to pick up more contemporary romances these days, so that could be a thing, too!

2 thoughts on “Ten Things That Make Me Want to Read a Book

Leave a Reply

