Comics

Comics I read this week! (May 7th)

I think I’ve spent about three weeks just piling up all my comics on my table and not reading them.  And I’ve been steadily decreasing my pull list, because (1) money, and (2) Secret Empire, ugh. These are some of the ones I read this week:

   

Hulk #5 by Mariko Tamaki & Nico Leon

The arc involving Jen’s case seems to be wrapping up; the big gooey monster living in her client’s house finally shows itself, and is trying to kill Jen. Oh, and she can only change into the Hulk when she remembers her cousin Bruce. Who is currently dead, after the last stupid event. *cries forever*

Mega Princess #5 by Kelly Thompson & Brianne Drouhard

The final issue of an incredibly fun series for kids. The kidnapped princes have all been saved, thanks to the Mega Princess. I loved this, and am definitely getting the collected volume when it comes out – my floppies are going to my 10-year-old niece so she could read them over her school holidays this June.

The Mighty Captain Marvel #4 by Margaret Stohl & Brent Schoonover

Carol Hulks out in the beginning of this issue, an incident that allowed for Bean to be kidnapped and her space station destroyed. She was put under observation, but the ones in charge of her were her friends Black Widow and Spider Woman, so of course they let her go and find Bean… which might have been a bad idea. She did save Bean in a way (the Tony A.I. helped) but it’s all part of a bigger plan to turn her into a weapon? I have a bad feeling about this…

(As much as I love Carol, and I love Margaret Stohl, I may be stopping this series for awhile, as she’ll definitely get dragged into that horrible Secret Empire event.)

Ms. Marvel #7 by G. Willow Wilson & Miyazawa Takeshi

Aaaand this is the Ms. Marvel I know and love. Ms. Marvel beats the biggest internet troll there is, with the help of her gaming friends. I love their reaction to finding out that their guild member is a superhero. I may be reducing titles in my pull list, but I don’t think I could ever stop following this series (as long as G. Willow Wilson is writing!).

  

Patsy Walker, AKA Hellcat! #17 by Kate Leth & Brittney Williams

What a wonderful final issue ❤ I will probably always be pissed at Marvel for cancelling this series, but I’m glad that they got to end it the way they wanted. I also hope that I’ll see Patsy occasionally in Generation X, just because Jubilee will be in that series.

Supergirl: Being Super #3 by Mariko Tamaki & Joelle Jones

From a superhero I’ve never been keen on to the lead of one of my favourite running series – in this issue Kara accepts the truth about where she came from, and struggles between her longing to tell Dolly (her remaining best friend) the truth and withdrawing from the rest of humankind. When she discovers a horrible truth about someone close to her, the decision might have made itself.

X-Men Blue #1 by Cullen Bunn & Jorge Molina

The thing about the new X-Men teams is that one is being led by Kitty Pryde, and the other by Jean Grey, and they’re both my childhood favourites (along with Jubilee, who’s in the upcoming Generation X). I don’t think I can afford to keep both series in my pull list and planned to get the first couple of issues for both, and decide from there. But… they’re both good in that just-like-the-old-times way! Both reminds me of how the X-Men were, and why I liked them. And the reveals at the end of this one… how could I not go on? So many hard decisions in my future…

Leave a Reply

