thinking out loud

Top Ten Most Anticipated Books For The Second Half of 2017

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. The last few weeks’ themes haven’t been particularly relevant to me, but I think this week is a perfect time to jump back in, with my top ten books I want to read from the second half of 2017.

    

Provenance by Ann Leckie 
A new Ann Leckie! That is all I need to know, really, but the fact that it’s described as a novel “of power, theft, privilege and birthright” also makes me pay close attention. This is being released in September this year.

The Black Tides of Heaven by J.Y. Yang
What really sold me on this book is Yuko Shimizu’s art. I’d pick up almost anything if the cover is by Yuko Shimizu. This is another fantasy featuring twins, which is something I’m seeing a lot lately. Also being published in September.

The Beautiful Ones by Silvia Moreno-Garcia
I’d want to read anything by Silvia Moreno-Garcia, but also every time I read this book’s synopsis I feel so restless and grabby, give me this book already, now. Alas, I’ll have to wait until October.

An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson
The cover of this book is just so, so beautiful. The synopsis sounds like something I’d like, especially in a YA fantasy. This book will be released in September.

Grrrls on the Side by Carrie Pack
Cheating a bit here because this is a June title, but I only found out about it recently, and I NEED to read it! As someone who (1) was a teen in the 90s, (2) was into riot grrrl, only there was no riot grrrl chapter anywhere near where I lived, not that it stopped me from connecting to other grrrls via zines and letters, (3) still writes zines and makes mixtapes, this book sounds perfect.

    

Dress Codes for Small Towns by Courtney C. Stevens
This is another of those books that I instantly wanted, just based on the title. And I wanted a bit more when I saw the cover. And a lot more when I read the synopsis. This is an August title.

Autoboyography by Christina Lauren
I’m optimistic about the “Fangirl meets Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda” tagline because I love both of the mentioned books. And I like the cover. This is another September title.

The Language of Thorns by Leigh Bardugo
A confession: I have not read the Grisha trilogy. I loved Six of Crows and Crooked Kingdom, though, and am looking forward to reading these stories. This is another September title, and why, yes I will be very broke in September.

Renegades by Marissa Meyer
All the Crooked Saints by Maggie Stiefvater
I will pretty much read anything by either of these authors.

Bonus: a book I’ve read and loved, and can’t wait for it to be released!

Not Now, Not Ever by Lily Anderson
This is apparently a sequel to The Only Thing Worse Than Me Is You, which I have not read, and did not know when I started it. And it doesn’t matter, because it can be read as a standalone and features one of my favourite YA protagonists EVER. I fell for Elliot/Ever from the beginning, in which she – inspired by The Importance of Being Earnest. – sort of runs away from home to go to genius camp, with a bag stuffed with hardback N.K. Jemisin books.

(Note: the only reason the upcoming N.K. Jemisin is not on this list is because I have yet to read this particular trilogy of hers.)

10 thoughts on “Top Ten Most Anticipated Books For The Second Half of 2017

  1. I haven’t read anything by Marissa Meyer yet but the cover for “Renegade” just made me really curious, this looks so cool!

    I just looked the book up on Goodreads and the plot actually does sound interesting, when it comes to YA novels I’m just always worried that there will be too much romance involved /o\ 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles all had romances, but they weren’t as heavy as other YA fantasies I’ve read. I’m hoping Renegades won’t be too romance-centric too.

      Like

Leave a Reply

