Monthly Wrap-Up

July’s Books

Books Read in July 2017

NOVELS
* The Queen of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner (audio, reread)
* The King of Attolia by Megan Whalen Turner (audio, reread)
* A Conspiracy of Kings by Megan Whalen Turner (audio, reread)
* Thick As Thieves by Megan Whalen Turner (reread)
* The Next Together by Lauren James (reread)
* The Last Beginning by Lauren James
* Everything Must Go by Jenny Fran Davis
* I Hate Everyone But You by Gaby Dunn & Allison Raskin
* Evil Librarian by Michelle Knudsen
* Revenge of the Evil Librarian by Michelle Knudsen
* Miles Morales: Spider-Man by Jason Reynolds

COMICS
* Star Lord Vol. 1: Grounded by Chip Zdarsky & Kris Anka (reread)
* Guardians of the Galaxy: New Guard Vol. 1: Emperor Quill by Brian Michael Bendis & Valerio Schiti (reread)
* Guardians of the Galaxy: New Guard Vol. 2: Wanted by Brian Michael Bendis & Valerio Schiti
* Guardians of the Galaxy: New Guard Vol. 3: Civil War II by Brian Michael Bendis & Valerio Schiti
* Invincible Iron Man: Ironheart Vol. 1: Riri Williams by Brian Michael Bendis & Stefano Caselli (reread)
* The Totally Awesome Hulk Vol. 3: Big Apple Showdown by Greg Pak & Mahmud Asrar(reread)
* She-Hulk Vol. 1: Deconstructed by Mariko Tamaki & Nico Leon (reread)
* Ms. Marvel Vol. 7: Damage Per Second by G. Willow Wilson & Takeshi Miyazawa (reread)

Because of all the events going on at work, a majority of my July reads were for work. I loved the excuse to reread all of Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief books, of course – especially for the first four books, because it was my first time listening to them on audio. I also reread a lot of comics, mostly rereads of stuff I’ve previously read in single issues, because they were quick reads that acted as a sort of palate cleanser between novels. Totally Awesome Hulk was my favourite of these – I love the four-issue arc about the Protectors, a group of Asian-American superheroes (which includes Amadeus Cho, of course, and my other favourites Silk and Ms. Marvel!) The Grounded storyline for GotG was fun while it lasted, and Mariko Tamaki’s Hulk is amazing.

Back in May, I had lists of new YA and fantasy novels I wanted to read throughout July and August. I put aside most of these, reading the books for work instead (and not regretting it one bit, because I loved everything I read this month!) I thought that I’d be eager to go back to my TBR now, but somehow, despite the fact that I’m currently in the middle of two new books (Love, Hate, and Other Filters by Samira Ahmed and 10 Things I Can See From Here by Carrie Mac) I feel like rereading instead. I’m probably going to move on to my next DWJ reread (Hexwood) soon – finally!

Leave a Reply

