thinking out loud

September’s Books

BOOKS FINISHED IN SEPTEMBER 2017

Novels
* Beasts Made of Night, Tochi Onyebuchi
* Perfect Ten, L. Phillips
* The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora, Pablo Cartaya
* Jane, Unlimited, Kristin Cashore
* Moxie, Jennifer Mathieu
* The Authentics, Abdi Nazemian
* Shards of Honor, Lois McMaster Bujold
* That Inevitable Victorian Thing, E.K. Johnston
* Slider, Pete Hautman

Picture Book
* How to Heal a Broken Wing, Bob Graham

Early Reader
* A Bargain for Frances, Russell Hoban & Lillian Hoban
* Bread and Jam for Frances, Russell Hoban & Lillian Hoban (reread)
* A Birthday for Frances, Russell Hoban & Lillian Hoban

Comics
* Saga vol. 1, Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples (reread)
* Saga vol. 2, Brian K. Vaughan & Fiona Staples

The good: I read a lot of good books last September. The bad: I read a LOT of GOOD books last September. I am probably the only person who thinks that a lot of good books can be a bad thing, but I guess I was thinking about it more in the sense that (1) everything I pick up after may seem meh in comparison, and (2) this will break my yearly end-of-year wrap-up as I would have to declare every single book as my favourite. Heh. Okay, probably not.

I did love both Jane, Unlimited and That Inevitable Victorian Thing so much that I can’t stop thinking of when I could use them in some kind of store promotion, because they need to be read by more people!

The Authentics and Moxie aren’t perfect, but are still pretty great reads. Perfect Ten was “just-nice” for the mood I was in when I was reading it – a cute, funny LGBT YA romance without the complications of homophobia or coming out narratives. Beasts Made of Night started out really good, but kind of lost the plot for me towards the end. I’m hoping that the ARC I got wasn’t complete, as the ending didn’t feel like one at all. The Epic Fail of Arturo Zamora was as lovely as I thought it would be. And Slider was a surprise for me; a few pages in I considered DNF-ing it, because I wasn’t keen on the subject of competitive eating, but it completely won me over by the end.

2 thoughts on “September’s Books

  1. Lol, I’m in two minds about reading a LOT of good books at a time. On one side, I felt so awesome reading all those good books. On the other, I’m like you, everything after them would feel meh. lol

    Like

Leave a Reply

