thinking out loud

5 Yummy Food (and Drink!) From Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s theme is yummy food from books, and while normally I’d include ALL THE FOOD FROM ALL THE BOOKS (not to mention all the food-themed manga I read!), I decided to stick to these five:

    

Butter Tarts in That Inevitable Victorian Thing by E.K. Johnston

Helena makes butter tarts for Margaret in the book, although their shell leaked, leaving filling all over the oven. When I was reading about how the smell of burning sugar wafted through the house, I felt like I could smell it. And I really wanted some!

Butter-Pies in A Tale of Time City by Diana Wynne Jones

This would be the first thing I think of when I think of yummy food in books. Technically, the butter-pies from the book doesn’t even exist (as heavenly as they sound), although somone did reverse-engineer a butter-pie and shared a recipe on tumblr.

Turkish Delights from The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe by C.S. Lewis

I used to crave these, after reading the book. Then my mother went to the UK for a conference and came back with some for me. And… I found them a little strange – why was Edmund so obsessed with them? I haven’t had any in ages, but these days I kind of like them.

Pumpkin Juice from the Harry Potter series by J.K. Rowling

I know, everyone loves Butterbeer. So do I! But I love my pumpkin spiced latte and pumpkin soup, but I had never had pumpkin juice when I first read Harry Potter. It sounded so yummy. I finally had some at the Wizarding World of Harry Potter, and it was little too sweet, but I still liked it a lot. Now I ask friends to bring some back for me if they go.

Madeleines in Swann’s Way by Marcel Proust

Not keeping to the children’s books theme here, but I had to include this. It’s been years since I read Swann’s Way, and honestly all I could remember now are the madeleines. They sounded so delicious that I became wary of trying the plain-looking biscuits. My late sister hated them and said to me, “don’t try them; you’ll be bitterly disappointed for the rest of your life.” Kit tells me that if I had real, well-made ones, I would get why Proust wrote about them the way he did. I still haven’t had any. And anyway, I may still prefer my digestives with tea.

9 thoughts on “5 Yummy Food (and Drink!) From Books

  1. I have no idea what Butter Tarts are but I do know that I am going to be spending the next hour googling recipes and making them this weekend. I need them!

    Like

Leave a Reply

