thinking out loud

Ten Book Titles I Like

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we’re sharing ten unique book titles, so I decided to go with some of my favourite titles:

    

Do Androids Dream of Electric Sheep? by Philip K. Dick
I discovered this book on my brother’s shelves when I was ten. I didn’t understand why this absolutely awesome title had to be changed to the boring “Blade Runner”. I still don’t.

The Girl Who Circumnavigated Fairyland in a Ship of Her Own Making by Catherynne M. Valente
Doesn’t the title make you really want to know more?

The Hitchhiker’s Guide to the Galaxy by Douglas Adams
I love the titles for this whole series. The Restaurant At the End of the Universe. Life, the Universe, and Everything. So Long, and Thanks for the Fish. Mostly Harmless. All very good titles.

I Am Not A Serial Killer by Dan Wells
I’m not a horror fan, but this title pulled me in. So far I’ve read this series up to the third book, I Don’t Want to Kill You, and I’ve enjoyed all three.

John Dies At the End by David Wong
Another series with good titles. The second book is called This Book Is Full of Spiders, and the third (releasing this year) is called What the Hell Did I Just Read?

    

The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky
Well, this was my absolute favourite book as a teen. I still think of it fondly now, although these days I find it harder to reread for reasons that doesn’t have anything to do with the Suck Fairy. I still like the title a lot.

The Purloining of Prince Oleomargarine by Mark Twain and Philip Stead, illustrated by Erin Stead
This is a new one that came out this year 🙂

Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury
I was wondering if I should include this, as the title is really a quote, but I do love this quote and title and book, so in this list it remains.

Who’s Afraid of Virginia Woolf? by Edward Albee
A confession: I knew this book long before I knew who Virginia Woolf was. It was on the family bookshelves, and before I started reading my parents’ books (I didn’t have books of my own until I was at least 9, so before that I spent a few years going through their shelves) I used to pull this particular one out, intrigued by the title, and imagined what it might be about without reading the backcover. Later, I’d discover A Room of One’s Own on the shelves…

A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle
This is another childhood favourite. I loved the titles of this book, and the others in the quartet: A Wind in the Door, A Swiftly Tilting Planet, and Many Waters (which is admittedly plainer than the others, but it suits the book.)

One thought on “Ten Book Titles I Like

  1. A superb list of intriguing titles — some of which I’ve actually read! I suppose it’s about books whose titles are the hook for you to pick them up, buy them and even enjoy them. Not all fulfil the last criterion: The Book of Lost Tales wasn’t as good as its promise, though it wasn’t bad. Classics occasionally had me hook, line and sinker when I was a kid, like Twenty Thousand Leagues Under the Sea (can’t remember if I read it or saw the Disney film first). And anything by Pratchett has me salivating with just the title, though I’m trying to ration them and not binge! (A Hatful of Sky is next for me.)

    Like

Leave a Reply

