Fantasy · thinking out loud

WWW Wednesday (January 8th)

WWW Wednesday on a Thurday! Oh well. I think until I properly get back into my previous pace, I will try to do WWW Wednesdays weekly. That way, I’ll at least keep the habit of posting on a weekly basis.

 

What are you currently reading?

I am reading Weave A Circle Round by Kari Maaren. I’m 35% in (according to my Kindle app) and so far, it feels like I’m reading a collaboration between Madeleine L’Engle and Diana Wynne Jones, so the blurb that got me interested in reading this in the first place isn’t too far off. I haven’t got the Konigsberg feel from it yet, but I’m just starting. Anyway. The L’Engle feel is stronger at first, with the protagonist that reminded me of myself as a kid, that I’d have imprinted on had I read this book when I was younger, just like I did on Meg Murry. And the geniuses, and the interesting family.

But then there’s the Diana Wynne Jonesian bit with the relationships between characters, and how Freddy (the main character) seems to view herself in comparison to her sister and step-brother. At first I thought I was going to get the whole “protagonist slowly getting more aware of their own abilities/character” thing plus the “protagonist and person they hate realise they have a lot in common and make better friends” thing, and I’m guessing that these may still happen.

However, it turns out that there’s still another very Diana Wynne Jonesian twist in the story that I am liking a lot. So far, my delight in this book feels absolutely personal, and I think very few books have made me feel this way while reading it. One of those books is Among Others by Jo Walton. Another is The Goblin Emperor by Katherine Addison.

 

What did you recently finish reading?

The books that got me out of my reading slump – This Savage Song and Our Dark Duet by Victoria Schwab. These are certainly some of the better YAs I’ve read – I love the lack of romance, and the fact that despite being the YA titles, it’s a lot darker than what I remember of A Darker Shade of Magic. We’ll be having a Skype chat with Victoria Schwab this Saturday at the store; I can’t wait!

 

What do you think you’ll read next?

Honestly, I wonder if after Weave A Circle Around I will be a bit dazed and unable to start something new, again. But I intend to read one of these books: An Enchantment of Ravens by Margaret Rogerson and/or Akata Warrior by Nnedi Okorafor. Or I’ll reread Akata Witch first. We’ll see!

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday (January 8th)

  1. Yeah I’ve never tried it before but it looks like it would be fun to do. Great post! Those books look really interesting. I keep hearing everyone talk about This Savage Song and I’m thinking I might like it. 😉😄

    Like

Leave a Reply

