thinking out loud

Ten Books I Want My Nieces/Nephew to Read

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we’re talking about the books we wish our future children/nieces/nephews/godchildren/etc would read. Of course, in my experience, kids will read what they want to read, whatever their parents/aunts/uncles/godparents/etc’s wishes are.

When I was a kid my parents wanted me to read Nancy Drew/Hardy Boys, and Agatha Christie. I disappointed them by rereading my Wishing Chair/Faraway Tree stories, and then bringing home the copy of Lord of the Rings that I found at the bottom of my uncle’s shelves back when I was twelve. (I also read my mother’s books from the shelves I wasn’t supposed to touch, of course, but I don’t know if they ever knew this.) It took me longer to discover SF (Asimov, when I was 14), another genre that my parents never got into or wanted me to get into.

Assuming that my nieces and nephew would read books I’d love them to read, though, I wish they’d read and love these:

    

    

  • anything by Diana Wynne Jones
  • Ella Enchanted by Gail Carson Levine
  • The Goose Girl by Shannon Hale
  • My Heartbeat by Garret Freymann-Weyr
  • The Phantom Tollbooth by Norton Juster & Jules Feiffer
  • The Secret Country by Pamela Dean
  • The Thief by Megan Whalen Turner
  • The View From Saturday by E.K. Konigsburg
  • A Wizard of Earthsea by Ursula Le Guin
  • A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

I know the DWJ part is a cop-out, but how could I decide? Anything would do – although I suppose I would say either Charmed Life, Howl’s Moving Castle, or Eight Days of Luke as a starter.

4 thoughts on “Ten Books I Want My Nieces/Nephew to Read

Leave a Reply

